Kris writes for children as Chris Eboch and M. M. Eboch. Under these names, she writes fiction and nonfiction for young people, with over 40 traditionally published books for children.

 

Her novels for ages nine and up include Bandits Peak, a survival thriller that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen’s Hatchet; The Genie’s Gift, a fantasy adventure drawing on the Arabian Nights stories; The Eyes of Pharaoh, a mystery that brings ancient Egypt to life; The Well of Sacrifice, an action-packed drama set in ninth-century Mayan Guatemala; and the spooky-fun Haunted series, which starts with The Ghost on the Stairs.

Her book Advanced Plotting helps writers fine-tune their plots, while You Can Write for Children: How to Write Great Stories, Articles, and Books for Kids and Teenagers offers insight to beginning and intermediate writers.

Learn more at her Amazon page or Amazon UK page, or check out her writing tips at her Write Like a Pro! blog.

Felony Melanie in Pageant Pandemonium: 

The Teenage Adventures of Felony Melanie

 

By Douglas J. Eboch & Kris Bock

​​Before Melanie Smooter became hot fashion designer Melanie Carmichael, she was known as Felony Melanie, the teenage troublemaker of Pigeon Creek, Alabama. Aching to escape the boredom of small-town life, she gets into many reckless adventures. Her boyfriend, Jake, is always by her side – and the local sheriff is usually close behind.

When Melanie qualifies for the Miss Alabama Princess Pageant Southern Regional, the first prize scholarship could be her ticket out of Pigeon Creek. But can a "trailer trash" girl outshine the snooty debutantes? Meanwhile, Jake and his friends suspect someone is sabotaging the pageant. They try to follow the clues, but it isn't easy when everyone dismisses you as redneck kids.

Melanie needs to prove herself on stage. Jake and the gang need to make sure she gets the chance. Can they show they're more than what people see on the surface?

Advanced Plotting

 

Chris Eboch’s book Advanced Plotting helps writers fine-tune their plots. Advanced Plotting is designed for the intermediate and advanced writer. If you struggle with plot or suspect your plotting needs work, this book can help. Use the Plot Outline Exercise to identify and fix plot weaknesses. Learn how to get off to a fast start, prop up a sagging middle, build to a climax, improve your pacing, and more.

Get The Plot Arc Exercise as a free Word download - click on icon to left

 

Stop by my blog to get the “Indie Publishing Worksheet” which can help you decide whether or not self-publishing is right for you, and if so, what steps to take.

You Can Write for Children: How to Write Great Stories, Articles, and Books for Kids and Teenagers 

 

Remember the magic of bedtime stories? When you write for children, you have the most appreciative audience in the world. But to reach that audience, you need to write fresh, dynamic stories, whether you’re writing rhymed picture books, middle grade mysteries, edgy teen novels, nonfiction, or something else.

 

In this book, you will learn:

 

  • How to explore the wide variety of age ranges, genres, and styles in writing stories, articles and books for young people.

  • How to find ideas.

  • How to develop an idea into a story, article, or book.

  • The basics of character development, plot, setting, and theme – and some advanced elements.

  • How to use point of view, dialogue, and thoughts.

  • How to edit your work and get critiques.

  • Where to learn more on various subjects.

 

Whether you’re just starting out or have some experience, this book will make you a better writer – and encourage you to have fun!

Order for Kindle, in paperback, or in Large Print paperback.

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Blogger Social Icon

© 2017 by Kris Bock. Created with Wix.com